Property Appraiser, Palm Beach County, Florida, USA
The Property Appraiser’s Office administers all property tax exemptions. Links to applications for available exemptions are below. Please Note: You must have an existing Homestead Exemption to qualify for additional exemptions. The deadline to file for Homestead Exemption is March 1 of the qualifying year. For more information, call us at (561) 355-2866 or contact us at email@example.com
Florida grants a standard $25,000 exemption on the assessed value of qualified residential property. An additional exemption up to $25,000 also may apply to your property.
*Homestead Exemption is granted to permanent Florida residents only. You must own the property and it must be your permanent residence on January 1st to qualify. A permanent residence is the address listed on your voter’s registration card, driver’s license or ID, the place where you register your cars and file your income tax. If you or your spouse are receiving a residence based exemption or benefit in another county, state or country, you are not eligible for exemption.
*Florida Statute 196.015 and 196.031
When qualifying for Homestead Exemption, you will need the following documents for all owners applying:
1. Florida Driver’s License or Florida ID if you do not drive 2. Florida car registration 3. Florida Voter’s ID (if you vote) 4. Immigration documents if not a U.S. citizen.
Documents should reflect the address of your homesteaded property.
Homestead Exemption also qualifies you for the 3% Cap Save our Homes 3% (SOH)
Active Military Service Exemption
The exemption is available for any branch of the U.S. Military, U.S. Coast Guard and Florida National Guard on active duty who serve outside the continental United States, Alaska and Hawaii. Application DR-501M must be submitted every year and eligibility is based on the previous year’s deployment, Jan. 1-Dec. 31.
Civilian Disability Exemptions
Civilians who are totally and permanently disabled and confined to a wheelchair are exempt from ad valorem taxation. Please submit Physician Certification DR-416
from two licensed Florida physicians. Proof of Gross Income (DR-501A )also is required.
Any real estate owned and used as a homestead by a quadriplegic is exempt from ad valorem taxation. Please submit Physician Certification DR-416 from two licensed Florida physicians. No income limit is required of a quadriplegic.
Civilians who are permanently disabled may be eligible for an additional $500 exemption. Please submit Physician Certification DR-416 from a licensed Florida physician.
Disabled Veterans Exemption
Please Note: You must be honorably discharged to qualify for these additional exemptions.
For more information, please call us at (561) 355-2866, or the local Veteran Services Office at (561) 355-4761.
Veterans with a total and permanent disability that was service-connected may be eligible for total exemption of ad valorem taxes. Please submit your 27/e Benefits Letter and a confirmation letter from the local Palm Beach County Veteran Services Office that the disability is 100% total and permanent.
Veterans with a service-connected disability of 10% or more may be eligible for an additional $5,000 exemption. Please submit your 27/e Benefits Letter and a confirmation letter from the local Palm Beach County Veteran Services Office that the disability is permanent and 10% or more.
Veterans with a non-service connected disability may be eligible for an additional $500 exemption. Please submit your 27/e Benefits Letter and a confirmation letter from the local Palm Beach County Veteran Services Office.
Veterans 65 or older with a combat-related permanent disability may be eligible for an ad valorem tax discount. Please submit DR-501DV form and a Letter from the local Palm Beach County Veteran Services Office confirming the disability is combat-related.
New applicants for the qualifying year can file online for Homestead Exemption.
New applicants for the qualifying year can file online for Homestead Exemption.
Granny Flats Exemption
An assessment reduction may be granted to qualified residential property owners who build an addition to their house to accommodate their parents or grandparents, age 62 or older.
Florida grants a property tax exemption to qualified institutional or non-profit organizations that own and use their property for religious, charitable, literary, educational or scientific purposes. Please submit DR-504 between January 1 and March 1 of the year the organization is seeking the exemption. For more information, call us at (561) 355-4523
Legally Blind Exemption
Blind persons may qualify for an additional $500 exemption. Please submit Optometrist’s Certification DR-416B to verify the disability. For total exemption, they should also submit a Gross Income statement to verify household income.
Residential property owners with a qualified Homestead Exemption can transfer all or a significant portion of their "Save Our Homes" benefit to their new property. Apply for Portability when you apply for Homestead Exemption on your new property.
Rental of a Homesteaded Property*
You may rent your homesteaded property for 30 days or less per calendar year and maintain a homestead exemption. Rental for more than 30 days for two consecutive years or for more than six months constitutes abandonment of a homestead exemption. Exempt property rented after January 1 of any year does not affect the homestead exemption for that particular year. If the property is rented on January 1 of the following year or the terms of the lease are six months or more the exemption will be denied. Property owners are required to notify the Property Appraiser’s Office when their property no longer qualifies for exemption. Failure to do so could result in a Homestead Tax Lien with substantial penalty and interest.
*Florida Statute 196.061 and 196.011 (9) (a).
Please call our Exemption Services at (561) 355-2866 for more information.
Real estate used and owned by a quadriplegic is totally exempt from ad valorem taxes. No income limit is required. Please submit Form DR-416 from two licensed Florida physicians.
Senior Citizen Exemption
This additional exemption is limited to certain homeowners who are 65 or older. Your Adjusted Gross Income must fall below a maximum level that is adjusted annually. Please submit DR-501SC .
Tangible Personal Property
Business tangible assets such as furniture and equipment valued at more than $25,000 is subject to ad valorem taxes. Please submit DR-405 . For more information, call us at (561) 355-2896 or contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Florida grants an additional $500 exemption to widows and widowers. Please submit a copy of the deceased spouse’s death certificate. If the surviving spouse remarries, they are no longer eligible to receive the additional exemption.
This is information that was taken off the Property Appraiser website.
Author:Jerry Sudzina Phone: 561-358-6675 Dated: October 31st 2016 Views: 185 About Jerry: ...
View our latest blog posts in your RSS reader. Click here to access.
We are a full service real estate brokerage with over 100 agents to serve you. Let us be your real estate resource. Regardless whether you need to buy or sell now, or sometime in the future, let us help you. We are no pressure and will always try and help. Contact us at 561-792-3948 now.
In Southwest Florida, taking a shine to the nation’s first solar-pow
"Thu, May 19, 2016
Joseph Schneider went above and beyond the capacity of a realtor. He facilitated in making the process of us purchasing our first home less stressful because of his knowledge and experience. Joseph made sure that every aspect of our transaction was handled in a professional and timely manner. Whatever we asked for in our search for the perfect home, he made sure that he did his due diligence. Joseph was referred to us and we would most definitely refer him to anyone who is looking to purchase or sell a home."